Entrees

As a health care practitioner, I have evolved over my career regarding my thoughts on diet.  But for the past few years, I have learned, appreciated and explored the world of traditional foods.  My nutritional mentor for this is Weston A. Price.  Organizations such as the Weston A. Price Foundation  and the Price Pottenger Nutrition Foundation have been instrumental in my education.  In the past I’ve been a junk-food vegetarian, vegan (what was I thinking?), completely fat-free and a diet Coke addict.  I’ve been recovering my health over the past few years and am feeling better than ever.  I’ve learned that the human body can do just fine without grains (wheat, oats, rice, etc) but that we also need to eat fat in our diet.  I remember the no/low fat craze of the 1990s and took that information to heart, only to end up gaining weight, dealing with depression, and having all over joint pain.

I’ve also learned that eating the way we did long ago i.e. no processed foods, vegetable oils, artificial sweeteners or food additives is  best for the human body.  I’ve included a few recipes below to get your started with ideas on food that is not only tasty but very healthy.  I’ve only included a few recipes but encourage you to explore some of the blogs and websites by some pioneering and very creative traditional food advocates.

Some of my favorites include:

Nourished Kitchen

Gnowfglins

Cheeseslave

Kelly the Kitchen Kop

Cooking Traditional Foods

I’ve not tested all the recipes listed below but I’ve used recipes from the websites.  One caveat is that if a recipe calls for low-fat cheese or sour cream, I recommend using whole fat instead.  Organic is always better and raw is even better than that!

Chicken

Roast Chicken

Chicken Mole Wings

Slow Cooker Chicken Soup

White Bean and Chicken Chili

Bacon, Chicken and Green Beans

Slow Cooker Chicken Tagine WithChickpeas And Root Vegetables

Homemade Chicken Nuggets

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Chicken and Rice

Chicken Salad

Baked Lemon Chicken

Beef

Summer Garden Beef Soup

Meatballs

Greek Meatballs

Sweet and Sour Meatloaf

Cottage Pie with Mashed Yams

Texas Chili

Beef Pho

Hamburger Helper Alternatives

Mexican Lasagna

Mediterranean Beef Stew with Rosemary

Stuffed Zucchini with Beef, Rice, Pepper and Basil

Marinated Beef Kabobs

Cuban Flank Steak

Pork

Slow Cooker Garlic Pork Roast

Crockpot Pork and Beans

Arugula, Bacon, & Cheddar Quiche (gluten free option available)

Pork with Paprika & Mushrooms

Pork Chops with Balsamic Glaze

Fish

Teriyaki Salmon

Baked Fish Sticks

Fish Tacos

Fried Fish

Spice Rubbed and Roasted Fish

Grilled Fish

Herb Encrusted Grilled Salmon

Vegetarian

Lentil Sloppy Joes

Rosemary Lentil Soup

http://ppnf.org/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment